Young Leadership Council Announces 2020 Board of Directors

NEW ORLEANS – At their annual meeting on Oct. 10, at Degas House, members of the Young Leadership Council (YLC) formally voted to approve the proposed slate of 2020 YLC Board Candidates. The organization announced the 24 individuals who will serve as the 2020 YLC Board of Directors and shared details within a press release.

These board members will work together to support YLC’s mission of developing young professional leadership through community projects.

The 2020 executive committee will be led by president Kevin Ferguson of the New Orleans Saints and Pelicans. Aimee McCarron of Prudential Advisors will serve as past president and chair of the nominations committee, with Yelena McCloskey of IBERIABANK serving as president-elect.

- Sponsors -

“I am grateful to have the honor of serving as president of the YLC Board in 2020,” said Ferguson. “Even more so, I’m looking forward to working with our staff, volunteers, leadership, and alumni to continue our mission of developing leaders through community service. For over 30 years, YLC has been leaving its mark on New Orleans, and I am excited to continue building on that legacy.”

Three committee chairs will return to the executive committee for a second year: Danielle Martin of the St. Bernard Economic Development Foundation will return as VP of communications and Andrew Koehler from Intralox will continue to serve as VP of membership. Graham Williams from Adams & Reese will continue as secretary and general counsel of the board of directors.

Second-year board member Patrick Hernandez of Roulaison Distilling Company will serve on the executive committee as the VP of projects and projects committee chair, and Brittany Whitsell of Hancock Whitney joins the executive committee as the VP of development and development committee chair.

- Partner Content -

Sunni LeBeouf

Black History Month Spotlight This Black History Month, Cox Communications is proud to recognize Sunni LeBeouf for her prolific record of professional achievement, civic philanthropy,...

YLC welcomes four new board members in 2020. These individuals have contributed hundreds of volunteer hours during their tenure as Project Leaders and volunteers. Joining the board is Cory Cheramie of RE/MAX Generations, who previously served as a project leader for YLC Assists. Cassie Carreras of Hancock Whitney joins the YLC executive committee as the treasurer after serving on the finance committee. Kristie Kaaa from Lucid, who provides a corporate membership for their young professional staff, transitions from project leader of the leadership development series to serving on the Board. New to the organization and the board of directors, YLC welcomes Nancia Sterling of New Schools for New Orleans.

“YLC board nominations continue to attract a talented and diverse group of young leaders from across the Greater New Orleans region. It’s an exciting reminder of the role YLC plays in leadership development and community service,” says Aimee McCarron, YLC’s 2020 past president and nominations committee chair. “Selecting our board was a challenge, but we have assembled a passionate group whose experiences, backgrounds, and expertise are as varied as the city they represent. I’m excited to see the impact they have on YLC and New Orleans in the coming year!”

Returning as general board members are Danielle Boveland from the Louisiana State Bar Association; Wayne Encalarde from the New Orleans Business Alliance; Jennifer J. Guenard from Advantage Capital Partners; Caroline Hayes from AOS Interior Environments; Margaux Krane from the New Orleans Museum of Art; Jeremy McMullin from Ernst & Young; Amanda Menniti of Entergy; Olivia Mertensmeyer, MBA Candidate at Tulane University; Caleb Roberts of Tulane University’s A.B. Freeman School of Business; Stephen Sewell from Evoke Consulting; C. Garlan White from Bellingrath Wealth; and Joseph T. Wilson from Liskow & Lewis.

- Sponsors -

Transitioning off the board of directors in 2020 are Bryanna C. Frazier of Coats Rose, Samantha Hawkins of Ochsner Health System, and Sean Landry of Litify. The entire YLC organization wishes to thank them for the mark they have left on YLC during their tenure, guidance that has ensured their colleagues success in the future.

YLC’s 2020 Board of Directors

President: Kevin Ferguson
President-Elect: Lena McCloskey
Past President: Aimee McCarron Secretary/General Counsel: Graham Williams Treasurer/VP of Finance: Cassie Carreras
VP of Communications: Danielle Martin
VP of Membership: Andrew Koehler
VP of Development: Brittany Whitsell
VP of Projects: Patrick Hernandez

General Board:

Danielle Boveland; Cory Cheramie; Wayne Encalarde; Jennifer J. Guenard; Caroline Hayes; Kristie Kaaa; Margaux Krane; Jeremy McMullin; Amanda Menniti; Olivia Mertensmeyer; Caleb Roberts; Stephen Sewell; Nancia Sterling; C. Garlan White; Joseph T. Wilson.


Young Leadership Council is a nonprofit, nonpartisan civic organization created to develop leadership through community projects. Through volunteer-created community projects, YLC recruits and retains young professionals to New Orleans, creating a positive impact on the quality of life in the region. The oldest independent YPO (young professionals’ organization) in the country, YLC has raised more than $25 million to support community projects in and around the Greater New Orleans area since 1986.

Digital Sponsors / Become a Sponsor

Follow the issues, companies and people that matter most to business in New Orleans.

Email Newsletter

Sign up for our email newsletter