Who’s Running For Mayor, City Council, Other Races So Far

NEW ORLEANS – Wednesday, July 12, was the first day to qualify for upcoming area elections, and according to The New Orleans Advocate’s Jeff Adelson, three dozen candidates signed up for 15 local New Orleans races.

         So far, former Civil District Court Judge Michael Bagneris; Councilwoman LaToya Cantrell; former Municipal Court Judge Desiree Charbonnet; Matthew Hill, an executive coach; Byron Stephan Cole, son of the late civil rights and community activist Dyan “Mama D” Cole; and Johnese Smith, who said she had been told to run by God, are running for New Orleans Mayor, Adelson reported.

         Adelson also reported Businessman Frank Scurlock is expected to qualify today, and businessman and reality TV host Sidney Torres and Troy Henry, a consultant who ran against Landrieu in 2010, are still considering qualifying to run for Mayor.

- Sponsors -

         For City Council, Adelson reports:

• All council members seeking re-election signed up yesterday, and there are three open seats.

• Those who qualified for the District A seat include Attorney Joseph Giarrusso III, nonprofit CEO and Pensiontown Neighborhood Association leader Tilman Hardy and writer, editor and community activist Drew Ward.

- Partner Content -

Entergy’s Energy Smart Program Brings Cost Conscious Innovation to New Orleans

Offering comprehensive energy efficiency at no cost to the consumer, Entergy’s Energy Smart program incentivizes Entergy New Orleans customers to perform energy-saving upgrades in...

• Those who qualified for the District B seat include former Zulu King Jay Banks, former Orleans Parish School Board President Seth Bloom, veterinarian Catherine Love and film writer Andre “Action Andre” Strumer.

• Those who qualified for the District C seat include Councilwoman Nadine Ramsey and former Councilwoman Kristin Gisleson Palmer.

• Those who qualified for the District D seat include Councilman Jared Brossett and Belden "Noonie Man" Batiste, a community activist and Yellow Pocahontas Mardi Gras Indian.

- Sponsors -

• Those who qualified for the District E seat include Councilman James Gray, businesswoman Alicia Plummer Clivens, community activist Dawn Hebert and Cyndi Nguyen, a leader in the Vietnamese community.

• Those who qualified for the Division 1 at-large seat include State Rep. Helena Moreno, community development and housing consultant Kenneth Cutno and youth advocate Eldon Delloyd "EL" Anderson.

• Councilman Jason Williams qualified for the Division 2 at-large seat and doesn’t face opposition so far.


         As for other races, Adelson reported:

• Orleans Parish Sheriff Marlin Gusman and Fredrick "Freddy" Brooks qualified to run for Sheriff.

• Assessor Erroll Williams and Anthony Brown qualified to run for Orleans Parish Assessor.

• Coroner Jeffrey Rouse and Dwight McKenna, a doctor and publisher of The New Orleans Tribune, qualified to run for Coroner.

• Civil District Court Judge Tiffany Chase and Criminal District Court Judge Tracey Flemings-Davillier both qualified to run for the 4th Circuit Court of Appeal seat.

• Omar Mason qualified to run for a seat on the Civil District Court bench.

• Clerk of Civil District Court Dale Atkins and Clerk of Criminal District Court Arthur Morrell also qualified to run on Wednesday.


         The deadline to qualify for area elections is Friday, July 14, at 4:30 p.m.


         For more information


Digital Sponsors / Become a Sponsor

Follow the issues, companies and people that matter most to business in New Orleans.

Email Newsletter

Sign up for our email newsletter