The 25th Annual Cox Inspirational Heroes Program Honors 124 Students

NEW ORLEANS – Cox Communications New Orleans paid tribute to 124 student heroes who lead meaningful, productive lives, while working very hard to overcome personal adversities at its 25th Annual Cox Inspirational Heroes Program Tuesday, April 25, at the Pontchartrain Center in Kenner, Louisiana. 

         Each spring, all public, private and parochial schools in the parishes of Jefferson, Orleans, St. Bernard and St. Charles nominate one student hero from within their school. Through the Cox Inspirational Heroes Program, Cox has recognized more than 3,000 incredible students (K-12) who have made overwhelming achievements despite their physical, emotional, psychological or social challenges faced on a daily basis, Cox reps said. Challenges include academic difficulties, physical challenges, mental/emotional challenges, serious illness, family adversities, substance abuse, cultural transitions, language transitions and behavioral disorders. Guests of the recognition program include district superintendents, administrators, educators, parents and family members.

         “We are so excited to be celebrating 25 years of honoring our area’s unsung student heroes, who come from many different walks of life, have faced many challenges and range in ages from five to 19,” said Steve Sawyer, director of Government and Public Affairs for Cox. “Our heroes have overcome so much in their young lives, while exhibiting inner peace and strength of character. They truly serve as an inspiration to us all.”

- Sponsors -

         A central theme of the event was taken from a quote by Booker T. Washington, “Success is measured not so much by the position that one has reached in life as by the obstacles that one has overcome while trying to succeed.” A short bio was read aloud for each hero as he or she was honored on stage at the breakfast awards ceremony. Each student received a certificate of achievement and a commemorative Cox Inspirational Heroes plaque.

         The 2017 Cox Inspirational Heroes included:


- Partner Content -

Sunni LeBeouf

Black History Month Spotlight This Black History Month, Cox Communications is proud to recognize Sunni LeBeouf for her prolific record of professional achievement, civic philanthropy,...

Jasriel Alvarez, St. Rose Elementary

Joseph Amedio, Kenner Discovery Health Sciences Academy

Dominic Arthur, T.H. Harris Middle School

- Sponsors -

Jackson Audibert, Marie Riviere Elementary

Alejandro Banegas, Grace King High School

Gabriela Bencomo, Live Oak Manor Elementary

Donovan Bentley, Lincoln School for the Arts

William Black, St. Christopher School

Alyssa Bovie, Adams Middle School

Macie Bridges, Marrero Academy for Advanced Studies

Ethan Brown, Gretna Middle School

Rhomad Brown, ReNEW Schaumburg Elementary

Valery Buquoi, Chateau Estates School

James Burks, New Orleans and Maritime Academy

Rashaad Butler, Rudolph Matas School

John Calandro, Hazel Park/Hilda Knoff Elementary

Miley Carbo, Benjamin Franklin Elementary

Davone Carter, ARISE Academy

Adam Cavignac, A.C. Alexander Elementary

Peyton Charles, Estelle Elementary

Austin Christian, Thomas Jefferson High School

Kristen Clement, Patrick F. Taylor Science & Technology Academy

Nikki Cloud, Eleanor McMain Secondary School

Krysten Craft, Gretna No. 2 Academy for Advanced Studies

America Creig, Mary McLeod Bethune Elementary

Skye Crusto, Mary D. Coghill Charter School

Patrick Davis, Martin Behrman Charter School

Dayja Davis, Phoebe Hearst Elementary School

Edinson Deras, Shirley Johnson/Gretna Park Elementary

Steven Dews, Judge Lionel R. Collins Montessori

Alex Donato, Airline Park Academy

Brayden Duhon, Leo Kerner Elementary

Kasey Dumas, J. B. Martin Middle School

Steven Durr, Arabi Elementary

Sereyonce Fatty, Vic Pitre Elementary

Timothy Fleming, JCFA

Sarah Fouquet, Academy of Our Lady

Tyler Foy, Norco Elementary

Demi Francisco, Einstein Charter School-Sherwood Forest

Omarie Frank, Gentilly Terrace Elementary

De'Shaun Frye, John Ehret High School

Danny Gaines, Frederick Douglass Elementary

Isaac Garner, L.B. Landry-O.P. Walker High School

Jaymerson George, Warren Easton Charter School

Tyler Gilmer, Chalmette Elementary

Nevaeh Gilmore, Bonella A. St. Ville Elementary

Jewlez Gittens, Miller Wall Elementary

Tiy-e Green, William Hart Elementary

Teranika Green, Granville T. Woods Elementary

Tyrell Griffin, Dwight D. Eisenhower Academy of Global Studies

Chad Grosch, Lakewood Elementary

Tristan Hebert, J.C. Ellis Elementary

Ximena Hernandez, Bissonet Plaza Elementary

Chance Herron, George Cox Elementary

Sa'Bria Jackson, Harry S. Truman Middle School

Dylan Jackson, Meisler Middle School

Hakia James, Einstein Charter High

Nicolas Jimenez Roque, Helen Cox High School

Tiara Jones, Mahalia Jackson Elementary

Jasmin Jones, Marrero Middle School

Dijanay Jordan, Schaumburg Elementary

Dajon Joseph, Cherbonnier/Rillieux Elementary

Stephanie Juarez, Paul J. Solis Elementary

Macy Klix, Green Park Elementary

Nathan Lansing, Haynes Academy for Advanced Studies

Don Lawrence, International High School of New Orleans

Christina Le, Alice Birney Elementary

Irving Lopez, Grand Isle School

Caleb Lund, Chalmette High School

Rachel Madron, Washington Montessori

Aniya Marsaw, Woodland West

Makayal Matherne, Catherine Strehle Elementary

Denver McClarty, Lake Forest Charter School

Myshalik McDonald, Einstein Charter Middle School

Henri Melancon, Stella Worley Middle School

Christopher Moore, Jefferson Elementary

Cameron Morales, Allen Ellender School

Dominic Morgan, Allemands Elementary

Bry'lyn Moses, Luling Elementary

Chance Mullin, Riverdale Middle School

Ronald Murphy-Carrasco, Harahan Elementary

Grace Murray, Ethel Schoeffner Elementary

Jaraad Nance, Hynes Charter Elementary

Khy Nguyen, Ella C. Pittman Elementary

Diane Nino, Riverdale High School

Karolina Nogues, Mount Carmel Academy

Maheen Noor, Schneckenburger Elementary

Elias Paguada, Terrytown Elementary

Eric Parsa, Harry Hurst Middle School

Kiya Patton, Edna Karr High School

Teyrianne Payne, Trist Middle School

Jan Piedra, John James Audubon Elementary

Jasmine Quinn, JCFA-East

Conner Richard, Raymond K. Smith Middle

Rykia Richardson, Mimosa Park Elementary

A'Mya Robertson, Joshua Butler Elementary

Jaysheena Robinson, JCFA-East

Jose Rodriguez, Bridgedale Elementary

Jovanny Siguenza, Clancy-Maggiore School for the Arts

Remy Singleton, West Jefferson High School

Troy Smallwood, Albert Cammon Middle School

Jaden Sparks, Mildred Harris Elementary

Issac Taplin, W. Smith Elementary

Anthony Taylor, Crescent Leadership Academy Alternative School

Gabriel Tender, Metairie Academy for Advanced Studies

JayQuan Terrell, Destrehan High School

Nicholas Thomas, Fannie C. Williams Charter School

Shiloh Thomasss, Einstein Charter School-Village de l'Est

Kaeli Thurman, Ruppel Academy

Christian Toliver, L. W. Higgins High School

Yexson Torres, Greenlawn Terrace Elementary

Vinny Vallelungo, New Sarpy Elementary

Kenneth Veal, Andrew Wilson Charter School

Ryan Vieregge, Joseph J. Davies Elementary

Miguel Villatoro, Success Preparatory Academy

Isabella Wallace, Cabrini High School

Sarah Wegener, Hahnville High School

Gavin Weigand, McDonogh 26 Elementary

Kendricks West, Arthur Ashe Charter School

Cody Westbrook, R. J. Vial Elementary

Zachary Whitaker, Lacoste Elementary

Randie Williams, Geraldine Boudreaux Elementary

Ken'teria Wilson, Algiers Technology Academy

Logan Zuniga, Harold Keller Elementary


         For more information


Digital Sponsors / Become a Sponsor

Follow the issues, companies and people that matter most to business in New Orleans.

Email Newsletter

Sign up for our email newsletter