Nunez Community College Hosts Inaugural Scholarship Breakfast

NEW ORLEANS – Student success was the focus of the Nunez Community College Foundation's inaugural Scholarship Breakfast held on Friday, May 3, at the Maumus Center in Old Arabi. Details were shared in a press release.

Dr. Tina Tinney, Nunez Chancellor, presided over the celebration, which recognized the 2018-19 scholarship recipients and donors.

Scholarship recipients in attendance included Charlie Shaw, Raquel Morales, Ali Meyer, Janie Fuller, Jennifer O'Sullivan, Aurora Troxclair, Ariel Troxclair, Joanna Manzella and Nadia James.

- Sponsors -

"What made it so special was the opportunity to connect the donors with the scholarship recipients," said Katherine Lemoine, Nunez's director of development and organizer of the breakfast. "It was very powerful hearing the testimony from some of our donors as to why they were giving, and then, hearing from our students, especially Nadia James, about the impact these funds have had on them was extremely meaningful, emotional and powerful."

Lemoine said the gathering was also a great reminder of the importance of bringing diverse people together.  "Seeing our donors and our students spending time together is rare, but it also reaffirms why we do what we do. Why we teach. Why we raise money. So that we can continue to help and develop our community through our work at the community college."

Dr. Tinney announced the creation of two endowed scholarships. Chalmette Refining-PBF established the Thomas Warner Endowed PTEC Scholarship and  New Orleans Wine and Food Experience presented the NOWFE Endowed Scholarship for Culinary Arts. 

- Partner Content -

Entergy’s Energy Smart Program Brings Cost Conscious Innovation to New Orleans

Offering comprehensive energy efficiency at no cost to the consumer, Entergy’s Energy Smart program incentivizes Entergy New Orleans customers to perform energy-saving upgrades in...

Other new scholarships that have been created and will fund over $200,000 awards in the 2019-20 academic year are: Jeffrey A. Cusimano Memorial Scholarship, Merlyn F. & Rosemary T. Sentilles Nunez Vo-Tech Scholarship, St. Bernard Parish Tourism Scholarship, St. Bernard Parish Film Scholarship, St. Bernard Business and Professional Women's Scholarship, Meraux Foundation Technical Scholarships, St. Bernard Rotary Scholarship, Dr. Hugh Craft Memorial Scholarship, Loretta Molero Memorial Scholarship in Adult Education and the Marie Unbehagen Memorial Scholarship in Medical Billing and Coding.


- Sponsors -

From Left to Right: Janie Fuller, Nadia James, Ali Meyer, Jennier O'Sullivan, Joanna Manzella, Charlie Shaw


L-R: Dorothy Hills (PBF-Chalmette Refining), Dr. Tommy Warner, Dr. Tina Tinney


Digital Sponsors / Become a Sponsor

Follow the issues, companies and people that matter most to business in New Orleans.

Email Newsletter

Sign up for our email newsletter