National Basketball Retired Players Association, National Chapters To Host Youth Clinic, Meetings In New Orleans

CHICAGO, IL – The National Basketball Retired Players Association (NBRPA), the only alumni association comprised of former NBA, ABA, Harlem Globetrotters and WNBA players, will join chapter leaders from around the country to host annual meetings and  a community youth clinic on Thursday, December 10, 2015, at the new NORDC Sanchez Multi-Purpose Center, 1616 Caffin Ave., in New Orleans from 3:30 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.

         As part of this event with NBRPA chapter leaders, over 14 former NBA standouts will be working with local youth along with officials from the NBRPA including former New Orleans City Council President and current President & CEO of the NBRPA Arnie Fielkow.

         Those scheduled to attend include: Dale Ellis (Seattle Supersonics), Willie Norwood (Detroit Pistons), Emmette Bryant (New York Knicks/Boston Celtics), Willie Davis (Chicago Bulls), Jerome Williams (Detroit Pistons), Wayne “Tree” Rollins (Atlanta Hawks), Rick Darnell (Virginia Squires – ABA), Tom Hoover (New York Knicks), Major Jones (Houston Rockets), Matt Fish (Los Angeles Clippers), Irving Thomas (Los Angeles Lakers), Marvin Roberts (Los Angeles Lakers), Kevin Loder (Kansas City Kings/San Diego Clippers) and Dwight Davis (Cleveland Cavaliers/Golden State Warriors).

- Sponsors -

         Chapters from Atlanta, Houston, Los Angeles, Orlando, Phoenix, Chicago, Detroit, Miami, New York, Dallas and Las Vegas will convene in New Orleans for Sports Business Annual Meetings and will serve to plan the NBRPA’s and Chapters 2016 international and domestic charitable efforts as well as strengthening programs that help former players transition to a successful life after basketball.

         The NBRPA is comprised of former professional basketball players from the NBA, ABA, WNBA and Harlem Globetrotters. It is a 501(c) 3 organization with a mission to develop, implement and advocate a wide array of programs to benefit its members, supporters and the community. The NBRPA was founded in 1992 by basketball legends Dave DeBusschere, Dave Bing, Archie Clark, Dave Cowens and Oscar Robertson. The NBRPA works in direct partnerships with the NBA and the National Basketball Players Association. Arnie D. Fielkow is the President & CEO, and the NBRPA Board of Directors includes Chairman of the Board Thurl Bailey, Vice Chairman Dwight Davis, Treasurer Marvin Roberts, Secretary Nancy Lieberman, Past Chairman Robert A. (Bob) Elliott, Rick Barry, James Donaldson, Mike Glenn, Spencer Haywood, LaRue Martin Jr., Johnny Newman and Eldridge Recasner.

         For more information

- Partner Content -

Entergy’s Energy Smart Program Brings Cost Conscious Innovation to New Orleans

Offering comprehensive energy efficiency at no cost to the consumer, Entergy’s Energy Smart program incentivizes Entergy New Orleans customers to perform energy-saving upgrades in...




Digital Sponsors / Become a Sponsor

Follow the issues, companies and people that matter most to business in New Orleans.

Email Newsletter

Sign up for our email newsletter