Louisiana Commission Touting New Highway Safety Laws


BATON ROUGE, La. (AP) — Louisiana's Highway Safety Commission is touting new laws that toughen DWI provisions and create new penalties to stem dangerous driving during floods.

The laws, passed during this year's regular legislative session, took effect Aug. 1.

- Sponsors -

Anyone convicted of driving while intoxicated and subjected to a blood, breath or urine test will face a $125 fine for the testing, a $50 increase.

Judges also can now extend probation longer for people convicted of third- and fourth-offense DWIs in a specialty court program. The commission says the provision is aimed at improving access to monitored substance abuse treatment.

Lawmakers also targeted drivers who cause dangerous wakes speeding through flooded areas. They could face up to 250 hours community service and a two-year driver's license suspension for careless operation of a motor vehicle.

Digital Sponsors / Become a Sponsor

Follow the issues, companies and people that matter most to business in New Orleans.

Email Newsletter

Sign up for our email newsletter