2018 Eugene J. Schreiber Award Recipient Announced


NEW ORLEANS — Don Pierson, Secretary of Louisiana Economic Development, has been named the 2018 Eugene J. Schreiber Award recipient for his significant contributions and work in promoting Louisiana and its industries.

Pierson was appointed Secretary of Louisiana Economic Development in January 2016. In that role, he is Gov. John Bel Edwards’ primary representative to government officials, local communities, and site selector consultants on all economic issues. Under his leadership, LED this year became the only state agency in the U.S. recognized as an Accredited Economic Development Organization by the International Economic Development Council. Pierson possesses three decades of economic development experience and is a certified economic development professional.

- Sponsors -

“Gene Schreiber was a guiding light for building international trade and investment opportunities in Louisiana, and I am honored to receive this award from the World Trade Center in his memory,” Pierson said. “At LED, we view international trade and investment as key elements of our state’s economy. Our Office of International Commerce team works very hard to attract foreign direct investment in Louisiana and promote our state’s many advantages as a trade and investment destination for international companies. It is a privilege to work on our state’s behalf to create jobs and business opportunities for the people of Louisiana.”

Since January 2016, LED has attracted economic development project wins resulting in over 25,000 new jobs, 15,000 retained jobs and $26 billion in new capital investment. Among the major international projects that he and LED have been involved in attracting are South Africa-based Sasol’s new $11 billion chemical complex in Lake Charles, Germany-based Benteler Steel/Tube’s nearly $1 billion project in Shreveport; Japan-based Shintech’s more than $6 billion in investment centered in Iberville Parish; and Taiwan-based Formosa’s pending $9.4 billion ethylene complex in St. James Parish. Projects such as these have helped to make Louisiana the No. 1 state in the U.S. for per capita Foreign Direct Investment.

The Eugene J. Schreiber Award, in memory of the late Eugene “Gene” Schreiber, honors an individual who demonstrates exceptional knowledge and leadership in promoting international trade policy for the benefit of the State of Louisiana. Schreiber served the World Trade Center and the Louisiana community for over 30 years.

- Partner Content -

Entergy’s Energy Smart Program Brings Cost Conscious Innovation to New Orleans

Offering comprehensive energy efficiency at no cost to the consumer, Entergy’s Energy Smart program incentivizes Entergy New Orleans customers to perform energy-saving upgrades in...

“Don Pierson has had extensive involvement in the trade community throughout his career,” said CEO of the World Trade Center Caitlin Cain. “He [Pierson] is a worthy recipient of this award and we thank him for his ongoing dedication to the international trade community of Louisiana.” 

Louisiana International Trade Week will kick-off November 5th at the International House Hotel in New Orleans. Week-long activities include an opening reception, industry panel sessions and awards. Trade Week will conclude with the International Trade Jubilee, a black-tie fundraiser event, at Harrah’s Casino Theater on November 9th, where Pierson will be honored.

Previous recipients of the Eugene J. Schreiber Award include former Senator Mary Landrieu, Congressman Charles Boustany, Jr. MD, Hon. James Coleman, Jr. CBE, Gary LaGrange, and Paul Aucoin. 

Digital Sponsors / Become a Sponsor

Follow the issues, companies and people that matter most to business in New Orleans.

Email Newsletter

Sign up for our email newsletter